Download a Blank Map of China from This Collection

China is one of the fourth largest countries in the world. Its area of 9.6 million sq. km makes up 81% of the East Asia region. Its population of an estimated 1.4 billion people makes China the most populated country in the world. Beijing, located in the north-east of the country, has over 21 million inhabitants, making it the most populated capital city in the world.

When it comes to the boundaries of the country, there have been some changes made in the last century and there continue to be disputes over certain areas (such as Taiwan and Hong Kong). Overall though, China’s boundaries are practically set.


Before we have a look at different blank maps of China, let us explain the differences between its four administrative divisions.


Blank map of China created with MapSVG

A province is the largest administrative region in China. Similar to what would be considered a state in the USA.

These are the provinces you will see on a map of China: Anhui, Fujian, Gansu, Guangdong, Guizhou, Hainan, Hebei, Heilongjiang, Henan, Hubei, Hunan, Jiangsu, Jiangxi, Jilin, Liaoning, Qinghai, Shaanxi, Shandong, Shanxi, Sichuan, Yunnan, and Zhejiang.

You will also notice five autonomous regions on the China map: Guangxi, Nei Mongol (Inner Mongolia), Ningxia, Xinjiang Uygur, and Xizang (Tibet). There are four municipalities: Beijing, Chongqing, Shanghai, and Tianjin. Additionally, there are two special administrative regions: Hong Kong and Macau.


It could be said that municipalities are the highest-level cities in the country.

A municipality is a city that comes under the direct administration of the central government, not of a province.

Some lower-level cities may also use the term “municipality” when referring to themselves in English.

All the cities in China can be categorized into three ranks:

  • Municipalities (直辖市; 直轄市; zhíxiáshì);
  • Prefecture-level cities  (地级市; 地級市; dìjíshì), counting in sub-provincial cities;
  • County-level cities  (县级市; 縣級市; xiànjíshì), counting in sub-prefecture-level cities.

Autonomous Regions

An autonomous region is one where a minority makes up the bigger part of the population. In theory, those also enjoy more legislative rights.

There are five autonomous regions in the People’s Republic of China (PRC): Guangxi, Inner Mongolia, Ningxia, Tibet (Xizang), and Xinjiang.

Special Administrative Regions (SAR)

These are regions that govern themselves, yet according to official designation still fall under the national rule. These unique regions are Hong Kong and Macau.

10 Fun Facts About the Geography of China

  1. China has the biggest variance in altitude on the planet.
  2. The north-east of the country freezes in winter.
  3. Two percent of the country’s area in the south is in the tropics.
  4. The Yangtze River is the third-longest river on Earth.
  5. China’s civilization was born along the riverbank of the Yellow River.
  6. The Pearl River Delta conurbation is the biggest urban area in the world.
  7. The third-largest desert on Earth is located in China.
  8. Natural grassland covers 40% of the country.
  9. China is home to half a million square kilometers of karst landscape (area of land made up of limestone) and the deepest canyon on Earth (Yarlung Tsangpo).
  10. There are over 100 cities with a population of over one million on the map of China.

The Best Blank Maps of China

Blank China Provinces Map

This blank map of China is perfect for use by teachers and parents. You can copy or save the image of the map. You can also download a printable version of the map.

The Map of China Template in PowerPoint format

The Map of China Template in PowerPoint format gives you two downloadable and editable slides. One is the China outline map, and the other – China political map.

China is divided into 34 political divisions.

Note that the template of the political map of China includes:

  • 22 provinces: Anhui, Fujian, Gansu, Guangdong, Guizhou, Hainan, Hebei, Heilongjiang, Henan, Hubei, Hunan, Jiangsu, Jiangxi, Jilin, Liaoning, Qinghai, Shaanxi, Shandong, Shanxi, Sichuan, Yunnan, and Zhejiang.
  • Five autonomous regions: Guangxi, Inner Mongolia, Ningxia, Xinjiang Uygur, and Tibet.

Map of China

This blank map of China shows the international border and the capital city.

China Provinces Blank Outline Map

Interactive Map of China

This map of China allows you to pick or change the color of any region by left-clicking on it. To remove the color or hide it, right-click on the region.

You can also add the title for the legend and create your own label for each color group. Then you can change the color of all regions in any group by clicking on it.

Map Of China With Rivers

This blank map of China includes the country’s boundary, the administrative divisions, and the Yangtze River.

Blank Map of China in png Format

Outline Vector Map of China with Provinces

Black and White Map of China

Blue Silhouette Map of China

Map of China with Provinces – Single Color

Transparent png Blank Map of China

Blank Map of China Work Sheet

Multicolor Map of China with Provinces

Blank Map of China with Indication of the Capital City, Beijing

Vector map of China with border countries

China blank map.svg

Flag Map of China

Outline Map of China with Provinces

Outline vector map of the Peoples Republic of China, the worlds most populous country

China Blank Map, Showing Provinces in Different Colors

Blank Map of China

China Blank Map with Provinces Divisions and Position of Capital Cities

China Blank Map with Yangtze River and Yellow River

If you enjoyed reading this article about blank maps of China, you should read these as well:

← Back to blog